Pulldown Menus


APA Orchestral Music Achievements


Awards Received:


1997 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Crazy for You”

2001 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Oklahoma”

2002 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Gypsy”

2003 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “The Music Man”

2003 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Side Show”

2004 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Damn Yankees”

2005 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Evita”

2005 MACY Orchestra of the Year

2007 MACY Highest Achievement Orchestra - “Miss Saigon”

2010 National Youth Theater Award : Outstanding Youth Orchestra “Singin’ in the Rain”

2011 National Youth Arts Award ; Outstanding Youth Orchestra “Les Miserables”

2011 John Raitt Awards for Youth : Best Student Orchestra “Les Miserables”


2009-10 featured 16 performances of live music by members of the orchestra,



6 performances each of 2 musicals

2 Sounds of the Seasons productions

Fanfare orchestra concert

2 music department recitals

1 String Fling concert

4 dance show accompaniments


Graduates have gone to study music at:


Indiana University

San Francisco Conservatory

Eastman School of Music




University of the Pacific

Annapolis Naval Academy

University of Connecticut

Cal State University Long Beach

Riverside Community College


Graduates have performed with:


Glen Miller Orchestra

“BLAST!” Broadway show

“South Pacific” national tour

various cruise ships


Phantom Regiment Drum & Bugle Corps

Santa Clara Vanguard Drum & Bugle Corps

Troopers Drum & Bugle Corps

Blue Coats Drum & Bugle Corps

Pacific Crest Drum & Bugle Corps

Impulse Drum & Bugle Corps


Valedictorian and/or Salutatorian at HBHS 9 of the past 10 years!


MMET Accomplishments


CA Golden Bell Award Winner 2010 - Top in State for Innovative Arts Education

Designated an Apple Distinguished Program - 3 years in a row

2 Apple distinguished educators (Jamie Knight and Mike Simmons)

Mr. Knight is a well-respected speaker on the National circuit regarding integrating popular music into the HS curriculum

Mr. Knight be speaking for the National Association for Music Educators National Conference in Baltimore this summer

Our program currently has 130 students

Our students perform in 3 mainstage shows and one major fundraising gala

There are a plethora of nightclub and in class performance opportunities

Our MMET Media Team sponsors a district wide student film festival called The Surf City District Film Festival

National Youth Arts – Best Student Film 2011

The Orange County Music and Arts Administrators (OCMAA) recently selected Mr. Knight as Teacher of the Year


Theatre Department Awards


National Youth Arts:


Outstanding Direction Robert Rotenberry for Tom Jones

Outstanding Ensemble for Tom Jones

Artist of the Year Caden Michael Gray for Tom Jones

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play Zack Carlson as Billy Flynn for Play Ball

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play Isabella Eisenpresser as Moonshine Maggie for Play Ball

Outstanding Costume Design Rachel Liang, Kiley Masters, Monica Wilson, and Nicole Duong for Tom Jones

Outstanding Original Music Stella Monshaw for Tom Jones

Outstanding Direction Robert Rotenberry for Dark of the Moon

Outstanding Ensemble for Dark of the Moon

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play Emma Degerstedt for Dark of the Moon

Outstanding Set Design Margaux Schindler and Elizabeth Gibson for Dark of the Moon

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Play James Sabala for Dark of the Moon


California Educational Theatre Association:


Best Production Area 2 Leading Ladies

Best Supporting Actress Alyssa Grimaldi for Leading Ladies

Best Tech Staff Leading Ladies

Flip Reade Award Zack Carlson for Leading Ladies

California Youth In Theatre Scholarship Zack Carlson , Alyssa Grimaldi, Bryce Miller and Robert Rotenberry for Leading Ladies

Senior Technical Theatre Scholarship Rachel Liang

Best Supporting Actor – Scene Works Zach Canter for Durang/Durang


Cappies (The Critics and Awards Program for High School Theatre and Journalism):


Best Featured Actor in a Play Bryce Miller as The Highwayman in Tom Jones

Creativity Stella Monshaw on the Harpsichord for Tom Jones

Best Set Design Elizabeth Gibson for Tom Jones

Best Choreography Lauren Slack and Kyle Selig for Dark of the Moon

Best Lead Actor in a Play Alex Syiek for The House of Blue Leaves

Best Lead Actor in a Play Jake Wells for The Diviners

Best Lead Actor in a Play Jordan Potter, for Ah, Wilderness!

Best Play The Innocents

Best Lead Actress in a Play Amanda Bolton for The Innocents


Dance Department Achievements


Graduates have attended:


Arizona State




Chapman University


University of the Arts


Cal Arts

Orance Coast College

Goldenwest College

Irvine Valley College


Alvin Ailey Summer Intensive


Alumni Professional Careers in Dance:


Elle Macy Pacific Northwest Ballet

Taryn Nowels Ballet West

Quenby Hersh Scottish Ballet

Lana Brewster Disneyland California

Ryan Marks Disneyland California, Paris, Tokyo


Awards Received:


Dance Under the Stars Choreography Festival - Division 2 Grand Prize

New Prague Dance Festival -

Pedagogy of Dance Award

Contemporary Dance Award

Grishko International Award

Festival Grand Prix

Youth American Grand Prix - 4 time Second Place Ensemble Award Winner


Musical Theatre Achievements


Scholarships and Individual Achievements:


Elizabeth Romero – Winner, Los Angeles Spotlight Award non classical voice, Young Arts National Honorable Mention, Musical Theater West Footlighter’s Vocal Scholarship Program, Represented APA at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards


Kyle Selig – Los Angeles Spotlight Award Winner in non classical voice, Musical Theater

West Footlighter’s Vocal Scholarship Program, National High School Musical Theatre

Awards Winner


Jacob Gonzales & Alex Syiek – Represented APA at the National High School Musical

Theatre Awards


Sarah Marion – Musical Theater West Footlighter’s Vocal Scholarship Program


Scotland’s Fringe Festival Winners – 3 Years:


2004 – The Secret Garden

2007 – Murder On The High C’s

2011 – Cabaret


2010 MACY Awards:


18 Awards for Singing in the Rain

Best Male Vocalist -- Kyle Selig

Individual Highest Achievement for Tech -- Michelle Hakam.

Judges Performance of the Day Trophy

Teatro Dell' Extordinaire Trophy

Titanic -

Outstanding Special Effects in a Musical Trophy

Best Supporting Actor -- Jacob Gonzales


2010 John Raitt Awards:


Best Musical

Best Choreography

Best Student Driven Set Design

Best Male In A Cameo Role – Cody Allen


2010 National Youth Theatre Awards:


Most Outstanding Production

Most Outstanding Choreography

Most Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical: Kyle Selig as Don Lockwood

Most Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Musical: Sara Budnik as Lina Lamont

Most Outstanding Ensemble

Most Outstanding Youth Orchestra

Most Outstanding Set Design: Michelle Hakam

2011 MACY Awards:


Les Miserables awards included “The MACY” for a “Broadway Quality Production that stands leagues above all others by a director who dares to go “Beyond the Beyond.” This Award had not been given out since 2002

Best Vocalist of the Year – Caden Michael Gray

Best Dramatic Actor of the Year – Jacob Gonzales


Students have attended such Summer Intensives as:


Florida’s “Broadway Theater Project”

Reality TV show and Summer Camp


Graduates have attended such prestigious universities as:

Carnegie Mellon

Baldwin Wallace Conservatory

Elon University

Berkeley University