Contact Us

The Huntington Beach Academy
for the Performing Arts

1905 Main Street,
Huntington Beach, CA 92648

P: 714-536-2514 x4025
F: 714-536-1023

APA Administration

Stacy Robison

Special Programs Administrator, APA

srobison@hbuhsd.edu | x4460

Diane Makas

Artistic Director, Dance, Musical Theatre

dmakas@hbuhsd.edu | x4450

Susan West

APA Supervisor, APA Council Advisor

swest@hbuhsd.edu | x4455

Christina Biardi

Special Projects Technician

cbiardi@hbuhsd.edu | x4025

Orchestra

Gregg Gilboe

Orchestra Chair

ggilboe@hbuhsd.edu | x4303

Richard Adkins

Strings Teacher

rla72003@yahoo.com

Acting

Robert Rotenberry

Theatre Chair

rrotenberry@hbuhsd.edu | x4153

Dance

Marie Hoffman

Dance Co-Chair

mhoffman@hbuhsd.edu | x4314

Andrea Taylor

Dance Co-Chair

ALtaylor@hbuhsd.edu | x4314

Brande Dunn

Ballet Teacher

bdunn@hbuhsd.edu | x4314

Christy Hernandez

Tap Teacher

chernandez@hbuhsd.edu | x4314

Diane Makas

Artistic Director, Dance, Musical Theatre

dmakas@hbuhsd.edu | x4450

Technical Theatre

Joe Batte

Technical Theatre Chair

jbatte@hbuhsd.edu | x4306

Costume Design

Courtney Gilio

Costume Design Master Teacher

courtneysuter@yahoo.com | x4308

MMET

Jamie Knight

MMET Pop Chair

jknight@hbuhsd.edu | x4116

Mike Simmons

MMET Media, Campus Update Teacher

msimmons@hbuhsd.edu | x4114

Nicole Kubis

MMET Vocal Director

itsallmusictomee@gmail.com

Musical Theatre

Tim Nelson

Musical Theatre Chair

tnelson@hbuhsd.edu | x4025

Diane Makas

Artistic Director, Dance, Musical Theatre

dmakas@hbuhsd.edu | x4450

Jennifer Simpson-Matthews

Musical Theatre Teacher

APA Parent Guilds

Musical Theatre Guild

Heidi Thelander

President

hthelander@verizon.net

Lori Donovan

Vice President

irishkids5@gmail.com

Dance Guild

Michele Romine  

Co-President

chele.romine@gmail.com

Anita Evans  

Co-President

anitaapa4@gmail.com

Rob Fishel  

Vice President

rob@sibernet.com

Theatre Guild

Nicole Yates

President

nicolefyates@yahoo.com

Rhonda Mesa

Vice President

mesaprops@msn.com

Orchestra Guild (OMG)

Janis Mantini

President

jlmantini05@gmail.com

Nancy Lopez

Vice President

nelopezmail@yahoo.com

MMET Guild

Greg Cocroft

President

gregcocroft@gmail.com

Vanessa Cocroft

Vice President

gvcocroft4668@att.net

Honor Cords

The APA honor cord is awarded to those students who have gone above and beyond in APA and academics during their high school careers. This cord is a symbol of hard work and is worn with distinction during the graduation ceremony.

Apply for an honor cord

APA Letters

Juniors and seniors are eligible to apply for the APA letter which can be worn on a letterman jacket, APA show jacket or APA Student Council sweater. The jocks are no longer the only ones wearing their accomplishments on their sleeves!

Apply for an APA letter

Lead APA

APA Student Council

APA Student Council offers its own leadership opportunities. Under the direction of staff adviser, Susan West, the APA council meets weekly and plans student events such as the annual APA Academy Awards, Walk for the Arts, the New Student BBQ, council dances and other community outreach. APA freshmen can participate as APA nuggets for their first year under the mentorship of the APA Student Council board members.

Please complete the application and submit to the APA office.

Join APA Student Council